Mother’s Day thoughts


My daughters really wanted to buy me some presents for Mother’s Day. They wanted to buy me books, because they know how much I love them. However after thinking about the commercial side of Mother’s Day, I didn’t want them to fall into such a consumer trap so early in their lives.

So I told them I didn’t want anything from a store for Mother’s Day. I said I would be happy to just sit on the balcony, in the sun, and drink coffee with daddy, while I watch them play downstairs in the garden (that really is my favourite way to spend any free time). They were a bit confused, but quickly accepted my request.

And then they went off to make me the sweetest gift. A handmade heart and and a written invitation to the lovely new cafe down the street, which they know I really want to, but didn’t have time to go to yet. It really made me happy.

6 responses

  1. Love love love it! How precious! Homemade gifts are really the best. My favorite gift from Mother’s Day was a photo of my firstborn holding a sign that said “I mama” and there was a poem her teacher had placed next to her. And all over the background of the construction paper were prints of her hands and feet. Brought tears to my eyes. I cherish it. 🙂

    May 9, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    • That sounds so lovely. They grow up so quick and it is lovely to have those precious gifts as a memory of their innocent, unconditional love. Thanks for your lovely comment!

      May 10, 2011 at 9:48 am

  2. What a beautiful post – a wonderful example to set, and what beautiful girls they are to make this. More perfect than anything you could buy. x

    May 9, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    • Thank you. It was hard to resist, because they wanted to buy me some really nice cookbooks, but I wanted to show them that I’m grateful for what I already have and that we didn’t need anything new to be happy together. This is something I have found very important lately, especially in the light of the recent disasters, where people lost all their belongings.

      May 10, 2011 at 10:30 am

  3. real name Jeremy Stocks

    Hi there, I like your blog and your philosophy! I also have tried to instill in my kids that buying new stuff isn’t the way to go. I’m also into food, more where the stuff comes from is my obssession and through our garden have hopefully shown them something!

    March 22, 2012 at 8:21 am

  4. Hi Jeremy, thank you so much for your nice comment. I had a look at your blog and I find it very inspirational. It’s great to see how much we can gain from staying close to the origin of our food and respecting the beauty of nature.

    March 22, 2012 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

