Fun for kids: Easter eggs and bunnies in miniature watering cans


This year I’m totally hopeless with Easter. Unexpected work, travel and a long lingering flu prevented me from doing the preparations I normally love to do weeks in advance. So, when I went to the Supermarket yesterday to do my last minute Easter shopping I still had not thought about what I would use as Easter egg nests.

The little baskets I used in the previous years were somewhere in a box in the attic and finding them would have probably taken me at least an hour, which I didn’t really have to spare. But then I saw these little watering cans in the flower section – reduced to 50 cents- and I instantly had the idea of using them instead of the baskets.

So I went home, cleaned them and filled them for my little nephew and my daughters. The nice thing is the watering cans can be used during spring and summer to water little freshly planted seeds, or they can be used as little flower pots to plant cress, or other small sprouts or herbs. A perfect gardening toy for little children. Happy Easter to you all !

3 responses

  1. They look so sweet, you should do things at the last minute more often! x

    April 24, 2011 at 9:10 pm

  2. Reusable decorations are definitely the best. Well, reusable and edible!

    April 25, 2011 at 10:36 pm

  3. Thank you both for your nice comments. The watering cans were equally appreciated by my 2 year old nephew and my 8 and 10 year old daughters. I love the thrill of doing things at the last minute, but I’m not always as lucky. 🙂

    April 26, 2011 at 10:01 am

Leave a Reply

