Archive for August 29, 2011

Lemon Myrtle Stars

Lemon Myrtle Star Cookies p8jpg

I love cookies and although it is most common to make them for Christmas here in Germany I always try and find an excuse to make some throughout the year.

A few weeks ago, my lovely friend sent me a packet of Lemon Myrtle spice from Australia and while I was wondering about a way to use them these cookies came to my mind.

You need: 110 g of icing sugar and 300 g of flour, 1 tsp Lemon Myrtle spice, 200 g butter and 2 egg yolks. Some more icing sugar and edible flowers for decoration.

Combine all ingredients with your hands and knead into a dough. Refrigerate for half an hour. Roll out the dough, use cookie cutters to make stars, ar any other shapes and bake on a parchment paper lined tray for about 10 – 15 minutes, or until they are just lightly brown on the edges.

Because these are supposed to be summer cookies I decorated them with some Thai Basil flowers. Any other edible flowers, such as lavender would be nice too. Just mix some icing sugar with a little bit of hot water and put a drop of it on each cookie and the gently place a flower in the middle.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers